Peter Apfelbaum & the Hieroglyphics Ensemble "Jodoji Brightness"

Track Listing

  1. Ghost Train Comes Peacefully (1:16)
  2. Chant 9 (4:59)
  3. 500 Years (5:41)
  4. Light Leaving The Spirit Bridge (4:24)
  5. The Hand That Signed The Paper (8:06)
  6. The Glow (5:30)
  7. Gypsies (4:05)
  8. The Gates (5:30)
  9. The Ankh (12:44)
  10. Libya Blues (6:25)
  11. I'll Look For You (4:01)
  12. A Las Estrellas (To The Stars) (7:30)


Peter Apfelbaum (organ, tenor sax, synthesizer, drums, percussion, piano); Bill Ortiz (trumpet, flugelhorn); Norbert Stachel (clarinet, flute, alto sax , bass sax, tenor sax, soprano sax, baritone sax, piccolo); Jai Uttal (guitar, percussion, harmonium, dotar) Seku Heath (percussion, bata, vocals); Deszon X. Claiborne (percussion, drums); Steven Bernstein (trumpet); James Harvey (trombone); Peck Allmond (trumpet, alto sax, baritone sax, tenor sax, soprano sax); Will Bernard (guitar); Jeff Cressman (percussion, bells, trombone); Rachel Durling (violin); Stan Franks (guitar); Bo Freeman (bass); Paul Hanson (bassoon, alto sax; tenor sax); Buddha Robert Huffman (conga, gong, bell tree, bata, bells, vocals); Josh Jones (conga, timpani, drums, vocals); Tony Jones (tenor sax) 

Released by



Recorded January 25 – January 28, 1992/Produced by Brian Bacchus, Hans Wendl, and Wayne Horvitz.

David Bias

377 Argyle Rd #4C, Brooklyn, NY 11218, United States

New Yorker. Crazy for old cameras and analog film. But I love sci-fi. Go figure.