Peter Apfelbaum & the Hieroglyphics Ensemble “Signs of Life”

Track Listing

  1. Candles And Stones (8:17)
  2. Walk To The Mountain (And Tell The Story Of Love's Thunderclapping Eyes) (3:17)
  3. Grounding (7:30)
  4. The Last Door (5:47)
  5. The World Is Gifted (7:45)
  6. Chant #11 (5:14)
  7. Forwarding, Parts 1 & 2 (12:48)
  8. Samantha Smith (8:06)
  9. Folksong #7 (3:20)
  10. Waiting (2:00)


Peter Apfelbaum (bells, drums, keyboards, percussion, piano, qarqaba, baritone sax, soprano sax, tenor sax, tambourine); Peck Allmond (clarinet, percussion, baritone sax, trumpet); David Belove (bass); Will Bernard (guitar); Deszon X. Claiborne (drums); Jeff Cressman (percussion, trombone); Stanley Franks (guitar); Bo Freeman (bass, vocals); Paul Hanson (bassoon, alto sax, tenor sax); James Harvey (percussion, trombone); Buddha Robert Huffman (bell tree, congas, gong, percussion, shekere); Josh Jones (djun-djun, drums, timbales); Tony Jones (tenor sax, synthesizer); Bill Ortiz (trumpet); Norbert Stachel (flute, bass flute, baritone sax, bass sax, soprano sax, tenor sax, sopranino); Scheherazade Stone (vocals); Jai Uttal (bells, cymbals, guitar, harmonium, MIDI guitar, percussion, vocals)

Released by



Recorded November 23 – 26, 1990/Produced by Wayne Horvitz.

David Bias

New Yorker. Crazy for old cameras and analog film. But I love sci-fi. Go figure.